Silhouette Weekly Shape Challenge: Week One

shapechallengebutton

This weekly challenge but my favorite craft company was the inspiration for starting this blog. Why shouldn’t I putting all my craft projects in the same place? Well I totally should!

If you’ve never heard about Silhouette you are missing out on life. Seriously. The Silhouette Cameo is the ULTIMATE in crafting tools. Check it out. Its amazing.

Now on the challenge. This is  from the Silhouette Blog:

Here’s the scoop on the Weekly Shape Challenge:
 
Each week Jen and I will choose a shape and create a project with that shape. On Fridays we will post our projects here to get your creative juices flowing, and then, if you choose to accept, we challenge you to: 
 
*Create a project using the selected shape {this shape will be chosen from the most popular downloads, so most of you will already have it… but if you don’t, feel free to submit a project using the weekly free shape instead}
*Leave a comment on the Weekly Shape Challenge post before the following Friday with a link to your project {If you don’t have a link no worries, just email us a picture of your project and leave a comment letting us know we’ve got mail}
 
Then, each Friday following the challenge announcement, we will select a winner at random from the comments to receive a $10 download credit to the Silhouette online store! Also, we want your projects to be seen… so each one submitted will be featured on our Weekly Shape Challenge board on Pinterest! 
This weeks shape is the Set of 6 Banners

Screen Shot 2013-05-03 at 9.07.01 AM

I love a good challenge and I found it pretty hard to find a use for these that are not party related. I wanted to think kinda out of the box so I came up with this sweet little card.
IMG_1314close up
I used the birds on a line from the shape of the week. The inside says “from time to time” Isn’t it cute? I’m going to send it to a friend that I desperately need to catch up with! She will love it.
I used the birds on a line then created the telephone poles with the ’rounded corner’ shape tool. Next I traced a phone image I got from Google Images. to make the twisty phone lines to the phone and between the words I used the ‘freehand’  line tool then trace the lines. after it was all put together I ‘welded’ the images to make one fluid cut. after it was cut I colored the phone line part with a Sharpie to make them stand out.
I’m happy with my first entry! I am even more happy to get back to crafting regularly!
For those fellow Silhouette users I am going to include the cutting file.
One thought on “Silhouette Weekly Shape Challenge: Week One

  1. That is a darling idea! I love how the birds are sitting on the phone lines. Those phones hanging off add so much! Thanks for your kind comment on my projects, it totally made my day!

Leave a Reply

